kunstgieterij  |  fonderie d'art  |  art foundry
   
 

 

Our History

Art Casting, A family business

Already in the 19th century, Johan and Geert's Great-Grandfather, Frans Norga was a wood carving artist (church chairs, confessionals, altars, etc.). Since then, craftsmanship in the art world has passed down through the generations of the Norga family.

The son of Frans, Sylvain Norga, became a well-known artist specializing in the creation of sepulchers. Needing to create some his pieces in bronze, he contacted a foundry working in sand casting. He then convinced his brother to start a foundry with him.

During the period between the two wars, Pascal Norga started his foundry in Etikhove, a village presently within the town of Maarkedal in the Flemish Ardennes (Oriental Flanders). He specialized in bronze letters, crosses and religious ornaments for tombstones using the sand casting method.

Herman, the son of Pascal, father of Geert and Johan took courses in art at Sint-Lucasinstituut. Not only did he take over the foundry but expanded it to include lost wax casting in addition to the sand casting. The lost wax method turned out to be excellent for casting more complex works of art.

In the early 90's, Johan took over from his father. Having studied art, he decided to stop producing numbers, letters, etc. and to dedicate the foundry to only casting works of art. That is when the foundry changed its name from The Norga Foundry to Art Casting. In 1995, Johan introduced the ceramic shell method for the first time into the Benelux and brought his brother Geert, economist by trade, into the family business.

kunstgieterij  |  fonderie d’art  |  art foundry
     
 

 

Historique

Art Casting, une entreprise familiale

Déjà au siècle passé, l’ arrière-grand-père de Geert en Johan, Frans Norga pratiquait la taille du bois artistique (chaises d’ église, confessionnal, althares, etc.). Dés lors, l’ artisanat dans le domaine artistique est resté le fil conducteur des générations suivants de la famille Norga.

Le fils de Frans, Sylvain Norga est devenu quant à lui un artiste reconnu, spécialisé dans la confection de sépultures. Ayant besoin de réaliser ses créations en bronze, il s’ adresse à une fonderie pratiquant la méthode de la fonte au sable.

Il encouragea ensuite son frère Pascal à commencer une fonderie avec lui. C'est dans la période de l'entre deux guerres que Pascal Norga entrepris une fonderie à Etikhove, un village se situant dans l’ actuelle commune de Maarkedal, dans les Ardennes Flamandes (en Flandre Orientale). Il se spécialisa dans la réalisation de lettres en bronze, croix et motifs religieux pour pierres tombales, en utilisant aussi la fonte au sable.

Herman, le fils de Pascal, et le père de Geert et Johan suivit une formation artistique au Sint-Lucasinstituut. Non seulement il reprit la fonderie, mais débuta également une section de fonte à la cire perdue à côté de l’existante méthode de fonte au sable. Cette méthode de la cire perdue s’ avérait excellente pour la fonte d’ œuvres d’art plus complexes.

Au début des années 1990, Johan succéda à son père. Ayant aussi bénéficié d’une formation artistique, il décida de se consacrer uniquement à la fonte d’ œuvres d’art. Le travail en série prit fin et le nom de la fonderie changea : la Fonderie Norga devint Art Casting. En 1995, Johan introduit au Benelux la méthode plus performante dite ceramic shell, et introduit Geert, économiste de formation dans l’ entreprise.